Competition Planner

Competitions, Festivals, and Academies for 2021-2022:

  • Bosendorfer Piano Competition

  • Bosendorfer/Yamaha Competition

  • Canada International Piano Competition (www.canadaipc.com

  • Chopin Foundation of the United States Scholarship Program for Young Pianists (www.chopin.org)

  • Dakota Valley Symphony Orchestra Concerto Competition

  • David D. Dubois Piano Festival & Competition

  • e piano Junior International Competition

  • Friends of the Minnesota Orchestra Young Artist Competition

  • From the Top

  • Frost Chopin Festival and Academy (www.chopin.org)

  • Golden Valley Orchestra Young Artists Competition

  • Hastings International Piano Competition

  • International Institute for Young Musicians (IIYM) International Competition

  • Minnetonka Young Artist Competition

  • Minneapolis Music Teachers Forum (MMTF) Mozart Concerto Competition (mmtfonline.com) 

  • Minnesota Orchestra’s Young Peoples Symphony Concert Association (YPSCA) Concerto Competition

  • Minnesota Public Radio's (MPR) Minnesota Varsity

  • Morningside Music Bridge (www.mmb.international/about/overview)

  • Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) National Young Artist Competition

  • National Arts Competition/Young Arts Foundation

  • New Orleans Piano Institute (NOPI) - Musical Arts Society of New Orleans (masno.org)

  • Oberlin Conservatory Summer Programs - Piano Festival

  • Piano Arts - North American Competition and Music Festival (pianoarts.org)

  • Piano Texas International Festival and Academy (www.pianotexas.org)

  • Rising Stars Concerto Competition of the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra

  • Saint Paul Piano Teachers (SPPTA) Concerto Competition

  • Schubert Club Special Grants

  • Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition

  • Southeastern Piano Festival (SEPF) and the Arthur Fraser International Competition (www.southeasternpianofestival.com)

  • Texas State International Piano Festival (www.tsipf.com/apply/)

  • Thursday Musical Young Artist Scholarship Competition​​

  • Waring International Piano Competition

​​

Calendar for 2021-2022:

September

  • Wednesday, September 1 – Applications accepted, St. Paul Piano Teachers (SPPTA) Concerto Competition (applications submitted by the teachers)

  • Wednesday, September 15, 3:00 pm Eastern Time  – Application deadline, Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) National Young Artist Competition

​​

October

  • Friday, October 1 - Applications accepted, Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition

  • Friday, October 15 – Application deadline, Saint Paul Piano Teachers (SPPTA) Concerto Competition (applications submitted by the teachers)

  • Tuesday, October 26 - Video upload deadline, Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) National Young Artist Competition

​November​

  • Monday, November 15 - Applications open, Oberlin Conservatory Summer Piano Festival

  • Monday, November 22 – Application deadline, Rising Stars Concerto Competition of the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra

​​

December​​

  • Wednesday, December 1, 3:00 pm Eastern Time - Application deadline, West Central Division, Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) National Young Artist Competition

  • Wednesday, December 1 - Applications open, Morningside Music Bridge

  • Saturday, December 4 - St. Paul Piano Teachers (SPPTA) Concerto Competition

  • Friday, December 17- Application deadline (teachers submit applications), Minneapolis Music Teachers Forum (MMTF) Mozart Concerto Competition

 

January ​

  • Friday, January 14 - Application deadline, Minnesota Orchestra’s Young Peoples Symphony Concert Association (YPSCA) Concerto Competition

  • Saturday, January 15 - Rising Stars Concerto Competition of the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra - Prelims/Semi-finals

  • Friday, January 28, 8:00 pm CST - Application deadline, Thursday Musical Young Artist Scholarship Competition

  • Saturday, January 29 - Minneapolis Music Teachers Forum (MMTF) Mozart Concerto Competition, Schmitt Music Auditorium, BROOKLYN CENTER

  • Sunday, January 30 - Application deadline, Morningside Music Bridge at The New England Conservatory in Boston

February​

  • Tuesday, February 1 - Application deadline, Dakota Valley Symphony Concerto Competition

  • Saturday, February 5 - Prelims (virtual) Minnesota Orchestra’s Young Peoples Symphony Concert Association (YPSCA) Concerto Competition

  • Sunday, February 13 - Application deadline, Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition

  • Sunday, February 13, 3:00 pm - SPPTA Winner's Concert with the Mississippi Valley Orchestra.  Great Benson Hall, Bethel University

  • Tuesday, February 15 - Application deadline, Texas State International Piano Festival

  • Friday, February 18, 8:00 pm CST - Video Submission, Thursday Musical Young Artist Scholarship Competition

  • Monday, February 21 - Application deadline, Piano Texas International Festival and Academy

  • Wednesday, February 23, 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm - Dakota Valley Orchestra Concerto Competition.  Schmitt Music Center Recital Hall, Brooklyn Center

  • Sunday, February 27 - Finals at Orchestra Hall - Minnesota Orchestra’s Young Peoples Symphony Concert Association (YPSCA) Concerto Competition

  • TBA - David D. Dubois Piano Festival & Competition

  • TBA - Schubert Club Special Grants

March​​

  • Saturday, March 5 - Rising Stars Concerto Competition of the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra Winner’s Finals/Concert

  • Thursday, March 10 - Solo and Concerto Competition Application deadline, Texas State International Piano Festival

  • Tuesday, March 15, - Application deadline, Southeastern Piano Festival (SEPF) and the Arthur Fraser International Competition

  • Tuesday, March 15 - Application deadline, Oberlin Conservatory Summer Piano Festival

  • Sunday, March 20 -  Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition Video Submission Deadline

  • Saturday, March 26 - Wednesday, March 30 - Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Young Artist Competition Finals.  Minneapolis, MN

  • TBA - Thursday Musical Young Artist Scholarship Competition Winners Concert

 

April​

  • Saturday & Sunday, April 23 & 24 - Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition Finals, Location TBD

  • Sunday, April 24 - Dakota Valley Orchestra's Concerto Competition Winners Concert, 2:00 pm

  • TBA - Application deadline, Frost Chopin Festival and Academy

  • TBA - Deadline, Schubert Club Special Grants

 

May​​

  • Sunday, May 15 - Application deadline, Chopin Foundation of the United States Scholarship Program for Young Pianists

  • Sunday, May 15 - Schubert Club Student Scholarship Competition Winner’s Concert, Ordway Music Theater

  • Saturday, May 21 - MMTF Mozart Concerto Competition Winner with the Kenwood Symphony Orchestra

  • TBA - Application deadline, New Orleans Piano Institute and Keyboard Festival

June​

  • Saturday, June 18 - Friday, June 30 - Piano Texas International Festival and Academy

  • Saturday, June 4 - Sunday, June 12 - Texas State International Piano Festival

  • Sunday, June 12 - Sunday, June 19 - Southeastern Piano Festival (SEPF) and the Arthur Fraser International Competition

July​​​

  • Sunday, July 17 - Saturday July 30 - Oberlin Conservatory Piano Festival

  • Thursday, July 7 - Saturday, July 30 - Morningside Music Bridge, The New England Conservatory in Boston

  • TBA - Frost Chopin Festival and Academy

  • TBA - New Orleans Piano Institute (NOPI) - Musical Arts Society of New Orleans

​​